Lala Living


Training Plan
March 29, 2011, 7:18 pm
Filed under: Running

I’m baaaaaaack!

Two years later and I never forgot about my blog. After a super speedy 6 mile run outside on Sunday (51:57!!) and signing up for two runs in June, I’ve decided to train for running again. Here’s my plan, only slightly amended to add strength and yoga to Hal Hidgan’s Intermediate 5K. I’ll be running a 10K the weekend after the 5K, but I want to focus on speed training for the 5K and then just enjoy the 10K. Everything is defined on Hidgan’s website, except for “Light Yoga” (literally 20 minutes or less of restorative yoga when I wake up) and “Strength” (15 minutes or so of basic strength moves and/or light weights to keep muscle tone). YAY! I’ll be sure to keep the blog updated with my progress. Oh yeah, I’ll start Monday, April 4th. Technically, there are 9 weeks from that date until my 5K, but I’ll be taking one week off for a yoga retreat. 🙂

Week
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
Light Yoga
3 m run + Strength
5 x 400
3 m run + Strength
Rest
3 m run
5 m run
2
Light Yoga
3 m run + Strength
30 min tempo
3 m run + Strength
Rest
3 m fast
5 m run
3
Light Yoga
3 m run + Strength
6 x 400
3 m run + Strength
Rest
4 m run
6 m run
4
Light Yoga
3 m run + Strength
35 min tempo
3 m run + Strength
Rest
Rest
5-K Test
5
Light Yoga
3 m run + Strength
7 x 400
3 m run + Strength
Rest
4 m fast
6 m run
6
Light Yoga
3 m run + Strength
40 min tempo
3 m run + Strength
Rest
5 m run
7 m run
7
Light Yoga
3 m run + Strength
8 x 400
3 m run + Strength
Rest
5 m fast
7 m run
8
Light Yoga
2 m run + Strength
30 min tempo
2 m run
Rest
Rest
5-K Race
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

